Recommendations Requested – Gun Cabinet

I’ve been needing a gun cabinet for a while now – my current storage arrangements are less than ideal – and recent financial changes combined with the holidays have made the purchase of a dedicated gun cabinet feasible.

I’m looking for something in the $100 – $150 range, an 8-10 long gun capacity, and I would prefer two shelves if possible (one for ammo, one for pistols), or at least the ability to add a second shelf myself. There’s a little flexibility on that price range, but anything over $150 would have to be considered carefully.

Unfortunately, my ability to shop for cabinets is pretty limited to local stores (mainly Dick’s or WalMart, and I’m not giving Dick’s a single penny) and Amazon/online. I’ve found that the online pictures of the cabinet interiors are usually not the best quality for shopping, mainly making it difficult to see the interior layout and construction, so I’m a bit leery of ordering one online. There are a couple of stores I could go to in Roanoke, but that’s nearly an hour’s travel each way – I’d essentially have to dedicate an entire day to shopping for just one thing, with no guarantee of finding anything I’d be interested in.

I’ve considered the Stack-On brand gun cabinets due to both price and availability, but I’m not terribly enamoured of them, though they remain a distinct possibility. So, I’d like to see if any of you have ideas or recommendations that might help me narrow down my selection.

END OF LINE

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Firehand

     /  December 30, 2012

    The Stack-on aren’t bad, though they really need better locks on the light ones. Heavier ones have better locks.

    Reply
  2. I agree with firehand, Stack-On are not bad and often in my area are on sale for almost half the regular price. But that wont help you. This i do know for sure, if you have a long long gun i.e, not a stubby black plastic tactical one, the top shelf will have to come out anyway. Stack-on has a pistol cabinet designed to be bolted on top, but thats going to cost you more.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

