Egypt

Just saw on CNN that we now have Marines providing security at the US Embassy in Cairo, and that the Canadians are evacuating civilians. I think I saw that we’re also evacuating civilians, but I’m not 100% sure.

It seems Egypt’s about to go critical. Given that the Muslim Brotherhood is one of the major players in this unrest, that’s doubleplus ungood.

Well, Biden said Obama would be tested. Let’s hope he’s up to the challenge.

END OF LINE

Update: It appears to be confirmed that the US is also working to evacuate American civilians from Egypt, along with several other countries.

Also, Jonolan reminds me in the comments that Marines have been guarding our embassies since 1949. I’ll admit that I was posting from my phone at lunch, so I was going off of the “headlines” at the bottom of the screen since the restaurant had the sound off with no subtitles. It’s possible they meant that the normal security detachment had been reinforced, but I haven’t been able to find anything about that yet.

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. We’ve had Marines guarding our embassies since 1949. They’re currently stationed at t 124 embassies and consulates around the world.

    Reply
    • I had thought we usually had Marines doing that, but CNN presented it as something new. I was posting from my phone at lunch, so I was going off of the “headlines” at the bottom of the screen since the restaurant had the sound off with no subtitles. I wonder if they meant the normal security detachment had been reinforced?

      OTOH, they are part of the MSM – it’s entirely possible they’re just wrong, or making stuff up to inflate the story.

      Reply
      • I’d go with the latter choice. It’s all about soundbites and headlines these days.

Leave a Reply

