Sorry, but my answer has to be “No.”

Sorry, Bob, but I’m going to have to respectfully say “No.” I will quite gladly celebrate the death of the human-shaped feces behind the largest single mass murder in modern US history.

I understand your viewpoint, and I can respect it, but here’s a reminder of why I just can’t agree.

Remember?

Never Forget!

Remember?

There are very, very few times I will say a death deserves celebration – my general attitude towards those who have shown they need killing is to simply put a bullet in their brain with as little fuss as possible, and be done with it. In this case, however, the horror perpetrated by this thing makes his death worthy of celebration.

And if it is “unbecoming”, well, I can live with that.

Update: And one more.

Closure.

END OF LINE

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Jake,

    I can fully understand the desire to celebrate. I really can.
    I can also agree with it in part.

    In the end, there are many reasons why we shouldn’t.
    First and foremost, Bin Laden didn’t act alone.
    He had help, massive amounts of help to attack America multiple times. Those people are still out there.

    While they need no additional reasons to attack us; I think we should show our disdain of their beliefs by minimizing the role and impact of their leader’s death.
    He is just another dead terrorist.

    Second, is the death of Bin Laden isn’t equivalent to the end of the war in Europe or with Japan.
    Those celebrations were about the victory, the end of the fighting.
    We haven’t beaten terrorism, only killed a single group.

    Lastly, I completely disagree with the notion that Bin Laden was a “thing”. Sorry but that minimizes the impact of who and what he was.
    He was a thinking, rational human being that attacked innocent victims. I’m not going to trivialize that horrific event by classifying him as anything other than a fully functioning human.
    Animals act on instinct. Things have no thought or feeling.
    Bin Laden was a person who helped commit nearly 3,000 murders in one event alone.
    Put a bullet in his head and move on.

    It isn’t about him so much as what type of people are we.
    If we celebrate the death of one man, don’t we lower ourselves?

    Reply
    • “He was a thinking, rational human being that attacked innocent victims. I’m not going to trivialize that horrific event by classifying him as anything other than a fully functioning human.”

      Biologically? Yes. But here we see the difference between biological and philosophical humanity. He gave up that humanity when he chose to orchestrate the unprovoked deaths of thousands of innocents simply because they didn’t worship his god the way he wanted. He was an animal, killing by proxy and without provocation.

      And if celebrating his death is lowering myself, well… to quote a friend of mine, “Get your mind out of the gutter, you’re blocking my periscope.” 😀

      But, admittedly, my “celebration” will consist of nothing more than hoisting a beer over dinner tonight, and maybe a “woo-hoo!”. It is justice, and it is a victory, but as you point out it’s only a small victory. If I hoist a second beer, it will be in honor of the SEAL team that got him.

      Like I said, I can see where you’re coming from, and in general I agree, but in that respect I consider this a special case. If I’m wrong, I can live with it. It won’t be the first time or the last time.

      Reply
      • Jake,

        Let me know what time you are planning dinner, I’ll join you long distance in that drink.
        That ‘celebration’ isn’t excessive and out of line in my opinion.
        Dancing in the street, cheering and chanting….more so.

        It is a line that each individual has to draw.

        As for as the giving up his humanity, that is a philosophical issue that we can talk about.
        I see it as the other away around. I know of few, if any, animals that attack over political/ideological/religious issues.

        Saying that someone is an animal means they have no control over their base nature and are simply acting according to their assigned role in life.

        Bin Laden is a much more horrific issue. He knowingly planned or helped plan the deaths of thousands. He acted not out of instinct but using the gifts of intelligence, thought and knowledge. I find that to more of a condemnation than to call him an animal. He sunk to depths that animals do not know.

        Calling him an animal excuses, in part, his actions. I want to give him no excuse. I want him to meet his maker in full cognizance of his actions and take full responsibility for those actions.

Leave a Reply

