First car meme

All the cool kids are playing, so I’ll join in.

My first car, bought in 1993, was an ’86 Nissan 200SX hatchback (marketed as the Silvia in Europe and the Gazelle in Australia). I had just turned 16, and as a birthday present my parents and grandparents chipped in half of the $3000 it cost – the rest was my money that I had saved up. It had the 2.0L 4 cylinder engine, without the turbo, and a 5-speed manual transmission (which was one of my criteria – I wanted to learn to drive a stick, and I wanted a manual anyway).

This is a pretty close representation of what I had, even the colour is the same. One of the oddities of this model was that there were several warning lights in a strip running along the passenger side of the dash, rather than being in the instrument cluster itself.

I didn’t really have any adventures or anything interesting happen in it, which I guess is a good thing.

It was a good car, that lasted me nine years. When I replaced it, it was 14 years old, with well over 150,000 miles.

I finally replaced it when the maintenance was costing more each year than the car was actually worth. The final straw was when the parking brake wouldn’t release one morning and almost prevented me from getting to work. Its final act in life was to be cut up for an extrication demonstration by my rescue squad.

END OF LINE

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. That doesn’t look too awful! 🙂

    Reply
  2. It was a good little car, while it lasted. Pretty good cargo capacity, too. I had the no-frills version (no power windows, no cruise control, analog dash, etc.).

    If I could buy one today in decent condition for $500-$800 or so, (and I was looking for a car, of course) I would jump on it.

    It was even fairly easy to work on. My only real gripe was that it was a PITA to change the oil filter because of the combination of where it was located and the plastic skid-plate underneath the engine compartment. The skid plate had to be removed to get at it from underneath, and while you could get to it from above, and even unscrew it, the layout of the engine compartment meant the gaps you could reach the filter through were just a little bit too small for the filter to actually pass through.

    Reply
  1. First Kar repost (2008) | Not Clauswitz

Leave a Reply

