Mmmmm, venison – Part II

Well, my experimental dish finished this morning, and I brought some to work for lunch today. Here’s what I started with.

Ingredients

And this, which I forgot to put in the original picture (and almost forgot to add to the pot!).

Stewed tomatoes

The actual “recipe” (which was more of an improvisation than an actual recipe)?

  • 1 lb venison steak, cubed
  • 1 can (14 oz.) low sodium beef broth
  • 1 can (14.5 oz.) Hunt’s Stewed Tomatoes
  • About 1/2 cup chopped onion (I used a medium yellow onion)
  • 1 cup rice (I used medium grain white rice)
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1 can (5 oz.) condensed milk (optional)
  • 1/2 Tbsp. ground mustard
  • 1/2 Tbsp. minced garlic (Christopher Ranch minced garlic in olive oil)
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Mix the broth, stewed tomatoes, condensed milk, water, rice, and ground mustard in the slow cooker. Brown the venison in a skillet and add to the pot, then sauté the onions and add them. Deglaze the skillet and add that to the pot as well. Add salt and pepper to taste. Cook on “low” for about 6 hours (adjust to fit your slow cooker).

What did I end up with? This.

Yummy! I hope.

Yummy! (I hope.)

Mine cooked for seven hours, which looks to be a little bit too long – there’s a little crust of rice along the side of the pot, and the rice in the dish looks a little overdone. I probably should have gone for six hours instead, but that would have meant either staying up an extra hour last night or getting up an hour early this morning, and since I’ve never done this before I wasn’t really sure how long it would need.

I haven’t actually tasted it yet, but I brought some to work for lunch, so we’ll see how it turned out later.

—–

Update: I couldn’t wait and snuck a bite early. It turned out pretty good!

END OF LINE

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

