Mmmmm, venison!

Made this for dinner today, using half a venison loin, sliced thin.

The rice was cooked with lime juice and just a little bit of sugar for flavour. The venison was browned with butter in a skillet with fresh ground black pepper, minced garlic, curry powder, and ground ginger. Then I added half a can of Ro*Tel Milder Diced Tomatoes and Green Chilies, about 2-3 tablespoons of lime juice (I eyeballed the amount), and a little beef broth, and let it simmer a bit. Then I added a bit of flour (mixed in with a little more beef broth) and let that thicken the juices just a little bit before serving.

It turned out a little spicier than I thought, but still pretty good. It was an improvisational variant on one of Mom’s recipes. She pounds the venison thin with a meat tenderizer, doesn’t slice it up, and uses plain stewed tomatoes instead of the Ro*Tel. I’ll probably use plain stewed or chopped tomatoes myself the next time I do this. I think that will work out better with the other flavours, especially the venison.

END OF LINE

[2012-01-19: Edited to add the lime juice to the skillet, which I originally forgot to mention.]

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Can you please provide more information on how you prepared the venison? It can be tricky to prepare, as if you overcook it it comes out gamey. We would love to get some more information on this!

    Reply
    • No real preparation, other than as described – I let it thaw, sliced it thin (from about 1″ thick to about 1/2″) and browned it in the skillet. Honestly, I did end up overcooking it a little bit – I added in the diced tomatoes later than I should have.

      I also forgot to mention that I added in about 3 – 4 tablespoons of lime juice at the same time as the tomatoes.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

