Miscellany

A couple of things I’ve been meaning to comment on but never got around to:

On the passing of Midnight

I’d like to give a belated thank you to those who gave their sympathy on the recent death of my cat Midnight. It was appreciated.

As a bit of a surprise, a few days after that, I received a sympathy card from the vet. Now, I suspect there are many veterinary clinics that will send such cards, but what was really surprising was that this one had a very nice and personalized hand written note from the veterinarian that actually attended us that night.

Sometimes it’s the little touches that can make such events bearable.

The Great Gas Experiment – a hiccup

Due to a combination of bad timing and the fact that there is only one gas station in my area that has alcohol-free gas, I had to put $5 of alcoholic gas in the car yesterday. I’ll run it close to dry before filling up again to try and minimize the impact. Before I left for the gun show, my car was reporting an average mileage of 24.8 mpg, up from the previous 24.5 mpg. After the gun show, which involved driving on the interstate, it shot up to 25.3 mpg, but that’s not really useful data here because of the difference in driving styles.

END OF LINE

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

